Angela Bocage



The White Dog Cafe (no, this isn’t another pup-cuisine post, it’s a restaurant review!)

Where did I want to go for my birthday dinner? I was so blissed out and floating from my birthday abduction surprise adventure, I almost couldn’t think. [I had been totally surprised to be taken to Red Bank, New Jersey for a pilgrimage and shopping spree at Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash, a comic book store and shrine to the films of its owner, one of our heroes, Kevin Smith, which films include those zeniths of the cinematic art, Clerks II, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, and Dogma.] After the redonkulous fast food sludge I’d been enjoying on my BASA, all I knew was that it had to be healthy! My darling is so sweet…when all I could come up with was the buffet at Whole Foods over in Princeton, she was ever so tactful in suggesting that I rethink.

 It had to be the White Dog Cafe, of course. We’d been there before with friends, and I love the White Dog for its unending visual variety–look, it’s a sepia-tone photo of a flapper lady holding a baby pit bull!–seems like one’s in a different room with a different feeling each time. But they all have in common imagery based on dogs, and as anyone who knows me knows, I find the company of dogs to be one of the best aspects of being alive! 

The White Dog’s philosophy of buying locally and supporting cruelty-free, organic food is something more restaurants should emulate. Its results are varied and delicious! Our waitperson, Lauren, was delightful and attentive and very knowledgeable about the food. And best of all, my carnivorous beloved could rave about the strip steak with onion rings on a bed of mashed potatoes, while I luxuriated in a vegetarian sampler as delicious and varied as it was healthy, and in the awareness that we were supporting a way of bringing food to the table that didn’t harm the earth or mistreat its critters. If you’re in Philadelphia, you must check out the White Dog Cafe!

Leave a Reply

