Angela Bocage



Scary stuff…people.

I have been on Facebook for several days. It reminds me of a wonderful gossip like Perez Hilton or the Go Fug Yourself girls, except it’s about people I know and like. So I’ve been fairly fascinated. Okay, obsessive. But it is also terrifying in a way. People I knew in San Francisco, and before that, Santa Cruz–undergraduate, for fuck’s sake–I can actually communicate with. Like time travel. Even though I have ALWAYS been absolute CRAP with people–awful at returning letters/calls/emails, awful at all those little ways of keeping in touch that my partner is so brilliant about. Not to mention saying things other people think is odd. I later thought it was probably because most of the people I knew day-to-day at UCSC were Southern California people and I was a Northern California person. But really I was just very weird. And even now I am capable of getting extremely shy and clumsy around people. I think I’ve gotten better in recent years…but still don’t always remain centered in groups of more than three max. My partner has been a great help; I just realized it today when a coworker took a picture of me and kind of channeling my sweetheart, I laughed and said, “Wait! You shoulda taken one where I’m picking my nose!” I told her about it later and she said, “Or you could’ve said, ‘Wait! You shoulda given me time to write ‘fuck you!’ on my forehead'”! See? THAT’S what I call real ‘people skills.’

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * dave says:

    crap with keeping in touch, that’s me too, but it’s a series of inactions not a law of nature, no?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
    • * angelabocage says:

      It’s great to hear from you, esteemed professor, especially as you are a stellar example of people I would like to know what’s up with: what’s new in terms of music, family, Brazil? Re natural law vs. inaction, Roland Barthes hisself couldn’t’ve put it more elegantly.

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

